The Lorax Movie Nite

My 3-year-old son, Finn is obsessed with movies. He sat perfectly still at the local theater at age 2 utterly mesmerized by what was taking place on the screen. I had to remind him to eat his popcorn otherwise I doubt he would’ve moved a muscle, literally. When the movie The Lorax came out I knew we had to try the 3D glasses on him. Oh boy, did he love it. In fact we went twice. I thought it might be fun to host a movie night at our house when the film came out on DVD. It was a hit!

Image

It only took 10 minutes, armed with crepe paper and a full-loaded hot glue gun to turn some pool noodles into truffula trees.

Image

We started the night by giving out movie tickets and some play money to buy sweets from the snack table.

Image

I figured it would be fun and put a bit of a cap on the amount of sugar intake that would take place. What I didn’t count on was teaching the kids a life lesson. For the rest of the week our friend’s 2-year-old daughter kept asking if she could buy things she wanted. Her mom thought it was pretty cool that she got the concept that things cost you something at such a young age.

We ripped the tickets, let them load up their snacks, they took a seat and then I then read the Suess classic before we showed the movie for good measure and off we went.

Of course I had to have some fun with the special treats. Finn went around telling me how each thing related to the movie in some way. He totally gets this stuff. I love it. Here’s some what we ate.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

All the kids had a great time. I hope another good movie comes out soon, so we can do it again!

Image

One response

  1. Oh my goodness!!! Leave it to you to take a simple kids movie night and turn it into an occasion! That’s my Kel! You make, no! wrench joy and celebration into life! I love your heart Kel!!! Awesome!

    And it’s Téa and Finn together in a chair…aaaawww…:)

Leave a Reply

